Posted by: expaticainhelvetica | July 22, 2009

Night Swimming

zugersee4

On Monday evening, my boss walked into my office asking why I was working so late. I held back tears as I muttered “It gets lonely in my apartment.”  She looked at me with a caring look and said “Well, tomorrow it will be 23 degrees, so after work, we’ll go swimming!” I happily agreed and came to work on Tuesday with my bathing suit in tow.

Needless to say, at 6:30 p.m., my boss and I were leisurely doing the crawl stroke in the Zugersee.  The entire town of Zug seemed to be out enjoying the wonderful weather, the crystal-clear lake, and just taking in the perks of living in this beautiful town.  As my boss and I chatted on the docks after a refreshing swim, I was observing everyone around me.  It was so wonderful to see people out and about after 7:00 p.m. reading a book, playing with their children, and even eating fondue!  People hadn’t sequestered themselves in their homes in front of crappy TV shows and mediocre take out – they were out ENJOYING the beauty that surrounds them.  Be it alone or with friends or with family, people were taking full advantage of the summer weather.

As we meandered our way back to the car, we ran into a co-worker and his wife.  We then encountered another co-worker out for a ride on his bike.  The five of us then went back down to the lake and shared some beer.  My boss was also kind enough to buy me dinner (sausage and potato salad…mmmmmmm).  As I took in this moment of joie de vivre, I could hardly believe that I was here on the banks of the Zugersee, in Switzerland, eating dinner, drinking beer, and living this European lifestyle.  I now fully understand why the Swiss are thought to have some of the best quality of life in the world.  They work hard, but they sure do enjoy their play time as well.

Responses

  1. But when do they have time for their blogs and twitter and facebook and gchat? I mean, when is their screen time? Working in front of compoopers all day is NOT ENOUGH.

    • Hahahaha…maybe I’ll start a poll to find out how they fit that in. Personally, I think it’s we expats who have a disproportionate amount of screen time just trying to get acclimated :-).


Leave a Reply

Categories

