Posted by: expaticainhelvetica | August 3, 2009

Just Another Day

Here’s what I did last Wednesday night. You try telling me this place isn’t a fairy tale:

I had a glass of wine with this as my bar room:

OperaJul09 004

This is the view from the outdoor dining area of Gasthaus Rathauskeller.  I didn’t eat, but some of my colleagues did and the food looked divine (and all gave it high marks).  And really, how can you argue with this view?

After that, we went to see Nabucco an opera by Giuseppe Verdi.  It was performed outdoors on the edge of the Zugersee.  This was where the performance was held:

OperaJul09 002

I’ve seen one opera before (Carmen on the Boston Common many summers ago), and I really enjoyed it – the vocals, the acting, the story line – all was good stuff, so it was fun to see another one, though this one was kind of confusing.  There was plenty of drama, love stories, death, insanity, forgiveness, biblical story lines, smiting, etc.  All of the basics one might expect in an opera.  The woman who played the part of Abigaile had an incredible voice that hit notes I didn’t think the human voice could achieve.  She was performing some impressive vocal gymnastics that probably perked the ears of dogs for a few miles.

 It’s hard to believe that I wake up in a place this every single day.  I don’t mean to gloat, but it’s pretty amazing.  How does everyone who has lived here their whole lives NOT pinch themselves every day when they are encountered with such beauty?  Does the wonder ever wear off?  I sure hope not – I enjoy being slack jawed and amazed on a daily basis.

And really, when you pass places like this every day, it’s hard to imagine living any where else: 

OperaJul09 005

Responses

  1. Scenery looks beautiful…seems like your in heaven….glad you got apartment….things are looking up!

    Aunt Margaret

  2. Looks like a blast! Looks like things are going your way and coming into focus. We’ll be thinking of you and looking forward to yur next post.


Leave a Reply

Categories

