Posted by: expaticainhelvetica | August 14, 2009

Changes

Since I’ve been here, I’ve some how managed to lose eight pounds (aprox 3.5 kilos). I have no idea how this is happening, given that my average daily diet consists of the following:

Breakfast
– Full-fat yogurt
The yogurt here is pretty amazing and if you really like the stuff, you’ll get addicted quickly. Migros, my grocery store of choice, has a brand called Saison. The options change by season, so in summer you get yogurt that has fruit native to Switzerland at that time of the year (i.e. peach, strawberry, and some local fruits I’ve never seen before).  The options then change in the fall, winter, & spring to include fruit that is seasonal and native to the region.  In short, the Swiss are well ahead of the locavore movement going on in The States.
– Fruit
When I first arrived, it was cherry season. It is now plum season. I think it will soon be pear season.  I glean this from the progress of the pear tree growing outside of my apartment. 
– Coffee with whole milk

Lunch
– Salad, normally with some sort of cheese and bread for good measure

Afternoon Snack
– More fruit
– Pear-flavored soda water (don’t knock it, this stuff is yummy)

Dinner
– Cheese
My cheese consumption has gone up exponentially. I have a favorite cheese store that I visit on the weekends. I’ve even had thoughts of starting my own cheese-making venture if/when we move back to The States. In short, I’ve become a cheese person. This is the effect this country has on you – come for a great job and then slowly become distracted, hatching plans to become a cheese maker because the cheese is just that good and intoxicating.
– Bread
– Sausage or some sort of meat
You can buy horse in the grocery store here. I don’t speak Swiss German but I can tell you I’ve learned the word for horse – pferd – and I know to avoid it when I see it suspiciously sitting in the meat section looking like any other non-descript red meat.
– Vegetables

After-Dinner Snack
– Chocolate
Migros has a chocolate aisle. How is a girl supposed to exert any kind of will power when there’s an entire AISLE dedicated to the good stuff?
– Possibly, more fruit

Maybe it’s the 25-minute walk I have to my office every day from my temporary abode. Maybe it’s the fact the food here isn’t laden with bleached flour, high-fructose corn syrup, transfats, acesulfame-k, alignate, and other unpronoucables. All I know is that I like the effects it’s having on me.

Responses

  1. “Maybe it’s the 25-minute walk I have to my office every day from my temporary abode. Maybe it’s the fact the food here isn’t laden with bleached flour, high-fructose corn syrup, transfats, acesulfame-k, alignate, and other unpronoucables. All I know is that I like the effects it’s having on me.”

    Bingo.

  2. seasonal yogurt and a chocolate aisle?! those Swiss know what they’re doing!

  3. makes you wonder if our body was suppose to have skim milk, or reduced fat this, or sucrolose there. perhaps eating right, being in a good place, and moderate activity is really all we need to stay healthy.

  4. Come for the job, stay for the weight loss and cheese entrepreneurships. So jealous, so jealous, miss you and love you.

    Also! Went to Playstead Park with Baby Girl today. Beach area was so muddy that I ended up throwing away my shoes and driving home barefoot. Baby Girl and I were CAKED in mud, from my glasses to her toes. Let the postcard read, ‘Wish you were here.’

  5. I concur on the chocolate aisle trumpimg any and all will power! But the key is good food and good walks! I had gelato atleast once a day while in Italy, yet it was the thinnest I’ve been since swim team! So just enjoy:)


Leave a Reply

Categories

