Posted by: expaticainhelvetica | October 2, 2009

The Post Man Rings Once

Picture it – 7:30 a.m.  I’m fast asleep.  For all who know me well, mornings aren’t my thing.  Getting ready in less than 30 minutes?  Well, I’m a master at that.  Anyway…

I’m jolted out of my slumber by the ringing of our doorbell.  I JUMP out of bed thinking it’s Frau Landlady.  She has some problems walking, so climbing five flights of stairs in a building that is sans elevator is a bit challenging.  I throw open the door and run downstairs so as not to keep her waiting.  I realize when I get to the third floor that the usual “Miz Expatica” that she typically calls when she’s downstairs isn’t to be heard.  Still, it’s morning and my mind isn’t working, so I keep my steady pace down the stairs.  I get to the bottom, throw open the main door and there’s no one to be found.  What the?????  I look to my right and a yellow Die Post truck is next door.  I then look on the ground to my left, and there’s big ol’ box addressed to Frau Expatica.  I am thrilled, if not a bit taken aback.  I mean, what mail system delivers ANYTHING at 7:30 a.m.?  And rings to let you know it’s there?

So, what’s in the box?  A birthday gift  arriving two days early (ahem, ahem)?  Nope – it’s our cable box, internet router and wireless router!  Whoo-hoo – we’re entering the new millenium.  Stories about the connection process are sure to follow.

Responses

  1. Hey you, Happy Burpday. Hope it’s full of love and laughter and Swiss chocolates.

    • Thank you, Miz Thang! Hope you’re enjoying fall in New England. I miss the leaves, the apple picking, and, of course, the smashed pumpkins along the road :-).


Leave a Reply

Categories

